Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I could use some grocery saving advice

Posted by on Oct. 5, 2011 at 3:41 AM
  • 8 Replies
  • 343 Total Views

Alright ladies, I'm in need of some grocery saving advice.

I have a healthy little family of 3, none of us are allergic to anything, and my daughter (3 and a half) and I are vegetarians (though I try to lean to the vegan side, though I'm just learning)

My S/O is not a vegetarian but he is picky, and hates red meat (other than ground burger) and fish and poultry (other than ground turkey)

We're currently spending about $200.00 every two weeks on groceries, when I try very hard its more like $185.00 but we often run out of food before the next shopping trip when that occurs. We definitely need to cut down our food expenses, but I'm truly finding it difficult to do with out totally skimping on nutrition. Any tips for me?

For those of you who would find more info useful, here is our 2 weeks of average meals:

Breakfasts- Oatmeal + Berries + Juice (2 days) Pancakes + Juice or Milk (2 days)

Cereal + Fruit+ Juice (4 days) Noodles in broth + Small Snack Tray (2 days)

Finger food tray of stray healthy items (berries, nuts, cereals, veggies, cheese, etc.) (2 days)

Lunches/dinners (switch-able) - Soy chicken strips and rice + Shredded carrots (4 days)

Rice vegetable soup (4 days) Pasta soup + Veggie Dogs (1 day)

Pasta tossed in butter and Seasonings + Green beans + Soy Sausage (2 days)

Vegetarian Tacos + Milk for the little one Veggie Nuggets + Mac n Cheese (2 days)

Spaghetti + Veggie meat balls (1 day) Breakfast items for dinner (1 day)

We don't eat out, nor do we eat anything extravagant. This list isnt the very healthiest but I can't seem to bring myself to cut it down even more...Thanks for any idea or advice sent my way!

by on Oct. 5, 2011 at 3:41 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
rkoloms