Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How many of you work or work from home

Posted by on May. 11, 2012 at 9:30 AM
  • 8 Replies
  • 395 Total Views

I feel very strongly that God is wanting me to homeschool my daughter.  She will be in kindergarten.  My boys are in public school.  They will be starting 9th grade.  I wish I could homeschool them, but DH does not want to pull them out at this stage.  Anyway, one of the things that is worrying me is our finances.

I have an associate degree in accounting and was planning on going back to school after DD went to school to get my bachelors.  My plan was to get a nice paying job or be able to work in the school system.  lWell, that changed after God began convicting me to homeschool my daughter. 

I am still worried about me not being able to work to bring home an income.  My boys are very active in sports and that is one reason why I have not went to work sooner.  Some of their games are at 3:00 and are sometimes an hour away.  We agreed that it was best if one of us was always around to be supportive of them. 

My husband is also in school.  He is planning on getting his Master's degree in Art education/art history.  He is self employed in drywall which works great so he can take classes when they are offered without worrying about losing his job.  The down side is that we've had to go on food stamps to survive.  So I am dealing with guilt about being on food stamps and wanting to homeschool my daughter. 

We do realize that being on foodstamps is only temporary.  We have been on them for about 2 1/2 years.  We had to get them when DH hurt his knee and had surgery.  Our plan was to only take them for no more than a year.  Well, then the economy bottomed out and it was all we could do to keep our power on.