Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How clear and developed is your toddler's vocabulary?

Posted by on Jul. 2, 2009 at 5:45 PM
  • 15 Replies
  • 582 Total Views

My son is 14 months and 3 weeks old.  He can understand some directions and knows a lot of words when I say them.  When he talks, I can tell what he is trying to say but it isn't that clear.  He can say "Uh-Oh", "du" (duck), "do" (dog), and dada.  Mama is only said when he is really upset and rarely happens.  He communicates by pointing, which I know is a good sign but I feel like his language should be more clear and should be reading more.  I am a teacher and I know the importance of reading and talking, which I do.  My son did have tubes put in his ears back in February and before that was sick for 8 weeks with ear infections.  I am thinking that had an imapct on his vocabulary.  Anyways, just wondering how far behind he is if he is behind at all with vocabulary.  Thanks!

by on Jul. 2, 2009 at 5:45 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
troysmama08
by Member on Jul. 2, 2009 at 6:58 PM

My son is 14 months also and he isn't saying a whole lot either at this point.  He says mama, dee dee (for daddy), he was saying giggy for dog but he hasn't said that in awhile.  He also tries to say Diana, which is his aunties name.  That is pretty much the extent.  I know he understands much more though, and responds accordingly when I talk to him.  I'm just hoping his vocabulary will start to pick up more as we go along.

Bedelina
by Member on Jul. 3, 2009 at 2:11 AM

Nathan is 14 months. He says mama, dada, dade, nana, ho, ha, tata, baba, sasa, blu, do, etc.  He also points things and able to choose. 

tomkat3
by on Jul. 3, 2009 at 1:25 PM