Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How clear and developed is your toddler's vocabulary?

Posted by   + Show Post

My son is 14 months and 3 weeks old.  He can understand some directions and knows a lot of words when I say them.  When he talks, I can tell what he is trying to say but it isn't that clear.  He can say "Uh-Oh", "du" (duck), "do" (dog), and dada.  Mama is only said when he is really upset and rarely happens.  He communicates by pointing, which I know is a good sign but I feel like his language should be more clear and should be reading more.  I am a teacher and I know the importance of reading and talking, which I do.  My son did have tubes put in his ears back in February and before that was sick for 8 weeks with ear infections.  I am thinking that had an imapct on his vocabulary.  Anyways, just wondering how far behind he is if he is behind at all with vocabulary.  Thanks!

by on Jul. 2, 2009 at 5:45 PM
Replies (11-15):
chena6
by New Member on Oct. 29, 2009 at 2:20 PM

my baby girl is 18 months and she talks all the time, she say                  mommy,daddy,nany,tony,do,wow,why,eat eat, cereal,baby,go,to,dee,two,peekaboo, she just so amazing

kodymom17
by on Nov. 9, 2009 at 12:00 PM

my son almost 19 months and is talking like crazy the past few weeks. he says alot of the words you ladies have already mentioned, but doesnt say daddy any more, he used to but i didnt really encourage it. His dad isnt in his life anymore so when he asked for daddy i would just say sorry hunny its mommy, and soon he only asked for me.

starting to put sentences together (2 or 3 words) haha example: he threw his food on the floor because i guess he was done eating and he does this when hes bored sometimes i looked at him and said "KODY we do NOT do that. why did you throw it on the floor?" he looked at me and calmly said "doggie did it" i was furious but i had to laugh because it was just to cute. lol.