Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

DISNEY! DISNEY!

Any teacher's in this group? (taking kids out of school for Disney)

Posted by on Jan. 29, 2013 at 11:39 PM
  • 30 Replies

Do you frown upon parents that take their kids out of school for a week for Disney? I hate going during breaks because of the crowds, we have to really save & sacrifice some things to be able to afford Disney and I want to be able to enjoy it and not fight the crowds and long lines. I really want to go the last week of September but I know that's right after school has started, is that frowned on?

Anyone else pull their kids out? DD's 1st grade teacher had no issue but her teacher this year seemed irritated about it. 

by on Jan. 29, 2013 at 11:39 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
awesomemommy2
by Silver Member on Jan. 29, 2013 at 11:51 PM
1 mom liked this
I was a teacher for 14 years until I "retired" when my oldest was born. I taught grades K-3 and my feelings were mixed as per the specifics of the vacation. The September ones are hard because we are just starting to get into a routine and there is a learning curve to get kids who may have had different teachers prior into my classroom rules, schedule, etc. Also depending on the parent involvement, child's aptitude and attitude to catching up when they return are all factors that come into play.

As a parent I have taken my oldest out for two weeks in K and he will be out one week next month. My suggestion is to give the teacher plenty of notice and try to have him do some work prior to the vacation so that the teacher will not have a child behind when he returns. If there are 25 kids in the class and they all take a vacation during the year and she then has to catch them up when they return its definately taxing.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Missy13d69
by on Jan. 30, 2013 at 1:12 AM