Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

working with autistic children

Posted by on Jan. 21, 2009 at 5:29 PM
  • 4 Replies
  • 822 Total Views

Hi I am Carrie Adkins. I am a teacher in Fayetteville, North Carolina. I have currently been assigned to work with a child that is autistic. I have worked with several autistic children before, but never with a child like this. This child is non verbal and shows no emotion. I would like some input on how to help a child like this. Would it be better to work with pictures than words to help the child? Is there any advice that someone could give me for working with a nonverbal autistic child?

Carrie Adkins

by on Jan. 21, 2009 at 5:29 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-4):
LOVMYSON14
by Member on Jan. 21, 2009 at 11:16 PM

My son is 16 and mostly non-verbal.  The words he uses is mostly to name certain items  (foods) when desired.  We use pictures in our home for Kevin to communicate with.  We do encourage the verbalization as well.  I use real pictures not pecs.  Kevin does better with actual pictures.  I take my camera everywhere so I can capture all I can during Kevin's trips in our community.  I use a monthly calendar for Kevin to understand what is scheduled (school,recreation, or home).  We use a daily schedule with at list 7 items available for Kevin to place his pictures on the Velcro.  Kevin will organize his schedule at bedtime for the next day, he will place for example on a school day, pictures of 1. brush teeth, 2. get dressed, 3. shoes, 4. bus, 5 school, 6. home, 7. Therapists picture (when scheduled). 

I can go on forever, I'm sure you understand what we do.  So the answer to your question, I feel pictures will be the best form of communication at this time for your student.  It will allow your student a form of communication and also alleviate his anxiety of not being able to communicate.