Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

?s about a above ground garden (this is my first time!!!!)

Posted by on Jan. 18, 2010 at 5:22 PM
  • 18 Replies
  • 1314 Total Views

I live in San antonio Texas.  I am going to start my garden in March.  I want to grow Strawberries, bazil, parsley, cilantro, tomatoes, cucumber, and squash.  I know I wont do it all but I want to do some.  Can someone help me?  I am going to use the rail road plaks for the garden. My neighbors mom has her garden with these.  can someone tell me how I should do this?  How much do you water every day?  It gets in the 100s for 30+ days here .... how do I keep them from getting fried?

Photobucket
by on Jan. 18, 2010 at 5:22 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
SanDiegoMaxMom
by Member on Jan. 18, 2010 at 6:49 PM

Hi and welcome.  I replied to your post in the SHM group and I'm glad to see you here!

For someone just starting out the best thing to do is go to your local plant nursery (not Lowes,  Home Depot, Target or Walmart) and talk to them.  They have the inside track on when to plant and what grows best in your area.

Your county will also have an agriculture extension that can provide very helpful info that's specific to your area.  They usually have a website.

For really hot days, you can use a patio umbrella or shade cloth for part of the day.  Your garden center expert will have the scoop on this as well.

GOOD LUCK!!!!

mommyof3-2008
by Member on Jan. 18, 2010 at 8:03 PM

Thanks!  i will go to my nursery this week and see what they say.  Glad you pointed that out because I would have gone to Lowes...Thanks!

Quoting SanDiegoMaxMom:

Hi and welcome.  I replied to your post in the SHM group and I'm glad to see you here!