Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Does anyones cat have FLUTD or chronic UTIs? (PIOG)

Posted by on Jan. 27, 2009 at 12:45 PM
  • 4 Replies
  • 182 Total Views

Well my cat was just diagnosed with FLUTD (lower urinary tract disease).  He has moderate triple phosphate crystals.  The vet recommended i switch him to Science Diet C/D but I HATE Science diet.  I feed all my animals Wellness brand, its all whole foods no byproducts or fillers.  So, I switched kitty to the Wellness line "CORE" its grain free and ph balanced.  The company rep said they have just as much luck with it in these cats as the science diet.

So I was just wondering what everyone does for their FLUTD cats?  Food, meds, watering, supplements, holistic approaches, etc?

by on Jan. 27, 2009 at 12:45 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-4):
kallison
by Member on Jan. 28, 2009 at 7:47 PM
I am a vet and deal with FLUTD regularly. FWIW, Hills does not have a good diet for this problem: they are currently trying to develop one (just invited to a dinner meeting about entering our patients in a study). However, Royal Canin does have a GREAT food for this problem: canned s/o. I like this diet because it has helped virtually every cat that I have started on it. Please keep in mind, about the only way to treat this problem is "holistically" or with treating the whole cat. Changing the food, adding water fountains to increase drinking, pain management, etc are all cornerstones. About 85% of these urinary problems are due to sterile inflammation" (ie not infection), 10% are due to stones, and 5% are due to infection. Treating with antibiotics without proving that there is an infection by doing a culture is wrong unless the cat is older and has a problem like diabetes, which predisposes it to infection. Pain management: I like transmucosal buprenex. Tramadol works ok but can cause difficulty uri