Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I am looking for advise from moms who have been there....

Posted by   + Show Post

Please help me out!

I am in a new non-profit organization knows as the Destiny Project Inc. We are located in a small rural town that does not have a NICU. The closest one is an hour and a half away. Our dream if for our county to one day have a NICU or at the very least a NICU stabilizer. But for the moment (starting small) we are going to be helping moms get to the NICU hospital by providing transportation or gas cards. Lodging (if needed) and some money for food and necessities while away. We also want to help moms after baby leaves the hospital.

We are starting to build up a stock of preemie clothes and a question came up if we were only needing clothes. I have no idea!! I have 3 children, all who were born full-term and I have no preemie experience. The only preemie things I know about are clothes and a special car seat.

My questions:

Besides clothes and the special car seat, what is needed to care for a preemie?

How often were you visiting your child in the NICU?

What necessities did YOU need while going through those rough days/months?

Were you required to stay at the hospital you delivered for any amount of time other than delivery? (bed rest at hospital; required stay due to other reasons?) If so, how long was the stay?

If you had to travel to get to your child: did you get to go as often as you wanted? If not, what prevented you from being able to? (gas, bills, work, etc...)

Is there anything you can add that I have not thought of?

I am so thankful for any help we can get from you! Thank you!!

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers
Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
Lilypie First Birthday tickers
Lilypie Trying to Conceive Event tickers
by on Jul. 9, 2012 at 4:51 AM
Replies (11-15):
quietsmilie
by Member on Jul. 21, 2012 at 10:15 PM