Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

baby in nicu wont eat!

Posted by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 2:39 PM
  • 13 Replies
  • 446 Total Views
Hi everyone!
My daughter Bethany is 2 weeks old today (born at 32 weeks). I'm trying to be patient, but I'm not very good at that! Two days ago she nursed her entire noon feeding. But yesterday and today she won't even attempt to eat (nursing or bottle feeding). She's doing great with everything else, she just won't eat. I know I just need to be patient and wait for her to grow a little, but I really want her to come home! I guess I'm just looking for encouragement. Have any of you dealt with this? Lol, I bet a lot of you have :-). Thanks for allowing my rant.
by on Jan. 10, 2013 at 2:39 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
AmesCSki
by Member on Jan. 10, 2013 at 2:52 PM
Still dealing with it at 9 months unfortunately! My preemie sometimes has zero interest whatsoever in eating but she will make up for it the next day or even the next feeding. Just be patient :) and as you said it's difficult to be patient!!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
AmesCSki
by Member on Jan. 10, 2013 at 2:54 PM
Also when we were in the NICU she had a feeding tube for awhile then there was a point when she had the tube and I was nursing her, then it was finally at the point where i was just nursing her. Maybe in the NICU they could do a feeding tube for your little one just for a short time so she gets food? Just an idea.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Bethbeth
by Member on Jan. 10, 2013 at 5:54 PM