Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How can I find a good daycare provider that I can trust?! Kind of long back story.

Posted by on Dec. 9, 2010 at 3:44 PM
  • 10 Replies

Ok, so I am a full time student and work a little on the side to help with expenses. During the spring semester, my aunt watched my son. I only had to pay her $400 a month which was nice since daycares are much more expensive. I always felt a little uncomfortable with leaving him there because she has a little apartment and 2 older sons and a dog. The place is always cluttered, and I noticed my son often had scratches and bruises presumably from the dog. It didn't seem like he was mistreated, and he always loved going over there.

A few days before the fall semester started, I asked my aunt to watch my son for a couple hours while I went to my school to buy books. During this time my aunt took my son to my grandmother's house to visit since she lives close by. When I came to pick him up, he was lying on the floor "sleeping". I thought maybe he was just tired, but when I took him to the car, he really wouldn't fully wake up. I took him to a restaurant where I was meeting my other grandparents for lunch, and he wasn't even alert in the restaurant! I had him on my lap and he couldn't even hold his head up. At this point I know something is really wrong with him, so I call my aunt to ask if he got into anything or ate anything unusual. She says, "Well he ate a banana, but he's always been fine with that...Oh, and he got into grandma's pills, but I counted them and they were all there." At this point I'm freaking out. How could she not tell me about this and not think it's strange that he was passed out on the floor?!