Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

20 Something Moms 20 Something Moms
I am very new to this whole military thing so I have a question. My kids are unvaccinated. My boyfriend just got his orders to be stationed in Italy February 2014. By then we plan on no longer being just boyfriend/girlfriend. Has anyone with unvaccinated kids ever done this? Will it matter that my kids are not vaccinated if we move to a foreign country?
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Nov. 13, 2012 at 6:19 PM
Replies (11-20):
ambermario4ever
by Bronze Member on Nov. 13, 2012 at 6:46 PM

What branch of the military?

novachick
by Gold Member on Nov. 13, 2012 at 6:47 PM
Air force

Quoting ambermario4ever:

lovinmykiddo07
by Bronze Member on Nov. 13, 2012 at 6:50 PM
Good luck with Tricare covering your kids or getting your kids to school/daycare on base. The military doesn't play with that shit. Trust me, I would LOVE it if my son never got a vaccination again in his life, but its hard to do anything in the military without vaccines.

Quoting novachick:

Thank you for calling, how sweet of you. I will keep trying. I will not be catching them up though, they will not receive any vaccines.

Quoting ambermarie2006:

Called my mom, she said to google the Italy guidelines and see if waivers are eligible to that country, but she doubts it because military likes people to be fully vaxed.

You can use the CDC vaccination catch up list to find out what they need. They definitely will need Hep vaxes

Quoting novachick:

Do you have any idea on how to go about finding the guidelines for Italy?

Quoting ambermarie2006:

I am pretty sure they have to be fully vaccinated. My mom works at the military vaccination clinic and has to give many children their shots to move overseas. I would find out guidelines for Italy though.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
novachick
by Gold Member on Nov. 13, 2012 at 6:51 PM
1 mom liked this