Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Any other moms who have quit smoking?

Posted by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 9:04 PM
  • 12 Replies

First of all, let me introduce myself. My name is Sarah....I am a 24 year old single mother of two rowdy boys. I have an SO who is amazing, and has two amazing kids of his own. I am a CNA and Staffing Coordinator for a local home health company in my town, and I also do some behind the scenes work for our family's company. I am a full time student on top of kids and two full time jobs, I will earn my degree in Healthcare Administration on my 26th birthday.

Anywho.....

I am looking for other moms who have quit smoking successfully. I have smoked socially since high school, but the last few years it has become a daily thing. My SO and I had a long talk about it the other night on our monthly weekend get-a-way. While he won't leave me for it, he wants me to quit, and I want to quit also. I just HAVE NO CLUE WHERE TO START.  I have had serious thoughts about just quitting cold turkey and dealing with the side effects. I want to get my health back in shape. I'm all of 5ft 4" and 115lbs soaking wet, but I still want to get to a better place with my body and all it's functions...but I can't if I'm still smoking.

Any advice would be much appreciated! Thanks ladies!

by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 9:04 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
k9l1c5
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 9:13 PM
1 mom liked this
I quit when I found out I was pregnant with dd. The same day. And that has been almost a year and a half now. I did it cold turkey and never looked back aside from a couple puffs from df's after having dd. Now we just need to get him to quit... I know it is rare that cold turkey works for people though.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
lenoxclan
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 9:16 PM