Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

20 Something Moms 20 Something Moms

Birth Control Vs. Permanent Methods

Posted by on Jul. 26, 2013 at 2:49 PM
  • 8 Replies

I am 21, my husband is 22 and we are expecting our second child. We have a 9 month old and I am 4 months pregnant with this one, so they will be about 14 months apart.

My husband feels that we are done with two so we will be using birth control of some form. I've never used it before, it kind of makes me nervous actually, plus I will be breastfeeding this baby also so I have to be careful of what methods I use. My husband has gone as far as to say he is willing to get a vasectomy. While I agree with him right now that we are done with just the two, I feel like we are too young to make a permanent decision regarding that.

He and I have been together since we were 14 and are each others' one and only. We have discussed this quite a bit, but I still feel like I'm making a blind decision since I have no experience with any form of it. Details on what type you use and the side-affects you've had from it would be great. Also-- I know a pill form will not work for me. There is no way I will remember to take a pill at the same time every day. So unless there's a monthly/weekly one, that won't work for me. I'm hoping there is some sort of injection or device or something that I won't have to think about all the time but won't affect my milk supply and hopefully won't make me too moody-- but that might be too much to ask for.

Anyway, any opinions/advice you all have to offer would be appreciated. Oh, and the one device I DO have a lot of feedback from is the ParaGard of which I've heard nothing but scary stories of cramping and bleeding.