Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

20 Something Moms 20 Something Moms

is this common?

Posted by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 7:23 PM
  • 15 Replies

So im at the grocery store and talking on my cell phone and my friend says i wish i knew how to groccery shop. And I kinda froze lol . . . how do you not know how to grocery shop don't you know what you eat? then she says yeah but its like i get to the grocery store i just idk i get overwhelmed. I didnt laugh til we got off the phone and I apologize if this sounds like you and i'm now laughing at you lol. But I can't imagine . . . is this common, do you feel like udk how to grocery shop?

by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 7:23 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
frndlyfn
by Silver Member on Oct. 26, 2013 at 8:03 PM

Perhaps she was not taught how to shop for herself.   I started learning at a young age.  Mom or dad would send me to corner market with a list and how food would be paid for.  We actually had food stamps when they were stamps and not a card or check voucher.   As I got older I could walk further away to a larger grocery store for things.  When i hit teen years, dad would give me his debit card to do household grocery shopping during our visits.

Vinterland
by Member on Oct. 26, 2013 at 8:08 PM

That never happened to me. Maybe it would help if she wrote a list? Maybe it's something personal to her, like an anxiety thing and it freaks her out. I never knew you had to be "taught" that.

peanuteb
by Bronze Member on Oct. 26, 2013 at 8:33 PM

I've never had a problem with shopping.  My mom is an awesome shopper, using a list and coupons and she I have been going with her since I was old enough to sit in the cart

Jewl-e
by on Oct. 26, 2013 at 10:36 PM