Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

20 Something Moms 20 Something Moms

Envelope system?

Posted by on Dec. 20, 2013 at 4:44 PM
  • 8 Replies

Does anyone else use the envelope system? Ya know where you set a certain amount aside in envelope per expense (gas, grocery, entertainment ect). I started doing it last month and surprisingly saved more than I would If I were to have paid for things with the debit card. 

by on Dec. 20, 2013 at 4:44 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
Courtney610
by Courtney on Dec. 20, 2013 at 4:58 PM
No, have it down to a science with my debit card.

When I worked in banking, I encouraged a lot of people to use the envelope system to avoid overdraft charges. It's an AWESOME system!
SpnFulOfSugar
by Member on Dec. 20, 2013 at 5:00 PM
No dh is in finance and would have a stroke if I tried to manage out money like that. He has systems and spreadsheets and stuff lol
TempestRayne
by Donna on Dec. 20, 2013 at 5:00 PM

Good for you! :)

Indy3000
by Bronze Member on Dec. 20, 2013 at 5:05 PM

We've never overdrafted because I budget and balance the checkbook but if we wanted something and had the money it's quite a bit easier to spend it with plastic and doesn't hurt as much ha. I bet you got people overdrafting all the time, everytime I go into my bank I swear there is always someone trying to get overdraft fees removed....

Quoting Courtney610: No, have it down to a science with my debit card.

When I worked in banking, I encouraged a lot of people to use the envelope system to avoid overdraft charges. It's an AWESOME system!

Indy3000
by Bronze Member on Dec. 20, 2013 at 5:07 PM