Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Tax thoughts

Posted by on Sep. 10, 2012 at 8:52 AM
  • 4 Replies
  • 203 Total Views

I was told to count business expenses even for just 1 child. That it would help reduce the amount of tax we pay.

Anyone else do that? Got a great site on how to get started, or a book?

Thanks.

by on Sep. 10, 2012 at 8:52 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-4):
JSCC
by Member on Sep. 20, 2012 at 7:17 AM

Definitely keep track of expenses!

Don't forget to record meals and snacks you fed them.

links below are a starting place

http://www.thinksmall.org/for_early_childhood_professionals/record_keeping_and_taxes

http://tomcopelandblog.typepad.com/tom-copelands-taking-car/record-keeping-taxes/

CampClan
by on Sep. 20, 2012 at 10:17 PM

Just some food for thought- I get my taxes done at H&R Block. I was a preschool teacher (for 5 eyar olds not in kindergarten). I saved my receipts (about $150 worth). I was told that because I was not a certified teacher (neither preschool nor K-12) I could not claim my expenses. IDK if that is actually true or not but I refused to buy anything else after that!

JSCC
by Member on Sep. 21, 2012 at 7:01 AM

Quoting CampClan:

Just some food for thought- I get my taxes done at H&R Block. I was a preschool teacher (for 5 eyar olds not in kindergarten). I saved my receipts (about $150 worth). I was told that because I was not a certified teacher (neither preschool nor K-12) I could not claim my expenses. IDK if that is actually true or not but I refused to buy anything else after that!

that does not sound right to me.