Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Please, help. New

Posted by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 8:18 PM
  • 6 Replies
  • 199 Total Views

Hi everyone,

I was told I have gestational diabetes. I couldn't find a group of GD, so I thought maybe you could help me. I had never had to poke my fingers before in my life. I'm getting pretty good numbers, but this is my problem:

To get one reading I have to prick an average of 6 times. My meter keeps asking me for the drop, when it is already soaking covered with it. Or it gives me an error, again and again. I wash my hands every time, I change the little strip every time.

It is frustrating me no end, Im new at this and I'm already drained and dreading it. I'm pregnant and hormones don't help. I don't know what to do :(

by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 8:18 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
michiganmom116
by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 9:51 PM
I get better results if I prick the sides of my finger tips instead of on the end. I have too many calluses on the ends for the lancet to get through. As for the strips, many of them have the opening on the very end, not on the top, but I don't know which meter you're using. As for the error codes, you should be able to check in your meter's booklet to find out what the error codes mean.
BabyLucasMom
by on Oct. 26, 2012 at 11:34 PM

Thanks I just realized the strip has the opening at the very end, not on top. I have wasted so many :(

Thank you!

Quoting michiganmom116:

I get better results if I prick the sides of my finger tips instead of on the end. I have too many calluses on the ends for the lancet to get through. As for the strips, many of them have the opening on the very end, not on the top, but I don't know which meter you're using. As for the error codes, you should be able to check in your meter's booklet to find out what the error codes mean.

michiganmom116