Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Struggling...I am not who I was, so who am I now? (VENT)

Posted by on Jun. 16, 2014 at 7:30 AM
  • 6 Replies
  • 66 Total Views

Once upon a time I was a brilliant lady.  I mean I knew my zip code! I had an IQ over 200---I was able to complete a sentence and it had something to do with the one I had just heard before! :)

Now I am out of work unitl mid August while we get my meds worked out.  I was a teacher--first grade for kids who come to school with little to no English.  Pretty advanced skill set there!  Really folks--I was not a head of mashed potatoes three months ago!  I was MENSA material--not terrified of ending up on People of Walmart for forgetting to wear pants!!!

I am taking Topamax, 50 am, 75 pm and sloooowly movng up to 150 am and 150 pm---Spongebob could kick my ass in Jeopardy.  (I just had to stop and try to spell that big J word twice!!! ARGH!!!)

Why am I out of work? Because I had 2 "Whoops--I'm gonna...sit..lay down here now kids..." events.  The last one was outside at recess with one other teacher and 50 kids at recess...at a shared public playground....in an inner city.  Yeah--they don't want me back until I am stable.  I havent been able to drive since April when I had my first, I endured my 72 hour EEG and we captured 3"beginnings" of events and 1 "whole brain" event.  Ok---so topamax it is.  This is week 2 of the med and I am already down about 5 pounds.  I literally can not eat.  Everything tastes like cowpoop.  If you have ever gotten organic fish fertilizer on your hands--that is EACTLY what food tastes like--I had a glorious love affair with food all my life.  Salt and I were Elizabeth Taylor and every guy...umm...well every guy.  Now...I get NO pleasure from food.  I never get hungry.  I never crave food emotionally...it is so weird! (Did I spell that word right? Weird is such a stupid word! Wierd..weird..they both look dumb)