Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

For all of you expecting or new moms.... this may sound weird but please read..... it may save a baby's life!!

Posted by on Mar. 28, 2011 at 12:34 PM
  • 13 Replies

I am a nurse and I get hoards of litterature each month in order to keep up to date on nursing trends....  This came across my desk today and I HAD to share. I know this proposal may sound kind of weird but it is DEFINITELY a worthy cause! Please read and find out more information about it!

What Is Breast Milk Donation?  

Breast milk has been proven far more beneficial than formula or cow's milk. However, not all mothers are able to produce or supply breast milk for their premature infants. A donation of your excess breast milk will have a significant impact on the lives of these infants and their families.

Here are five frequently asked questions about breast milk donation:

Why donate?

If you have extra milk, it can be processed into specialty formulations for the nutritional needs of premature infants in neonatal intensive care units. The HELPINGHANDS Milk Bank collects excess breast milk from qualified donors to provide human milk fortifier and standardized human milk processed from 100% human breast milk to babies in need.

What happens to donated milk?

Your valuable donation of breast milk will be used to make human milk formulations that are sold to hospitals for use in the feeding of very small babies in neonatal intensive care units across the United States.

How do I donate?