• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

PCOS...no period...no ovulation...

Posted by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 12:15 AM
  • 8 Replies

Ok, I'm new to this but I wanted to see if anyone else was in the same boat as I am.  I am 28, overweight and I have PCOS.  I was taking clomid, metformin, and progesterone but I ended up having a miscarriage last year.  So, my husband is worried and no longer wants me to take pills but without them I can't have a period.  Besides, I no longer have insurance and the metformin and clomid didn't help me ovulate after a while.  Is anyone else in this same situation?  I'm on a path to lose weight now but I just don't know how to get my period to come on so I can ovulate.  Any advice would be great...thanks.

by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 12:15 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
KaliLeanne
by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 12:23 AM
I'm going through all that now. I've lost 46 pounds and still have more to go, I'm hoping if I can get below 200lbs I can reset my cycles.... Right now I'm doing a thousand mgs of metformin twice a day, progesterone to start a period, and 150mg of clomid......
mom_of_teejay
by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 7:21 AM
The metforan kept me regulated the past 9 years untill i missed my period last month. going to the dr today to see whats wrong
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Mipsy
by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 11:11 AM
I really don't think the pills have anything to do with the miscarriage and dr's typically keep us pcos women on metformin the first trimester to try to prevent miscarriage.

I take 2000mg of metformin a day and my periods only come every 3 months. So I dont have much advice on regulating period. I see a RE today and will bring up my irregular periods and see what they say.