Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

I am NOT going to be a horrible parent!

Posted by on Dec. 3, 2011 at 8:04 PM
  • 17 Replies

There are a few things everyone who reads this should know about me before I start:

1. I'm 20 years old. 

2. I WAS a second semester sophomore at UNC-Chapel Hill in North Carolina. 

3. I was majoring in English and Comparative Literature; going for a doctorate so eventually I could teach in universities.

4. I left school to have my baby, who is due in April 2012, becasue I couldn't afford the healthcare there.

5. I AM going back after the baby is born, next fall.

6. No, I don't have a job. When I came home, I tried, but everyone kept telling me that they needed someone longer term than 7 months. I WILL be getting a job after the baby.

Due to some extreme financial issues, after my step-dad lost his job and my Mom got fired from hers b/c we had to move, we are on some really hard times. My step-dad has asked my mother to leave, and we're (we being me, my younger sister, and my Mom) trying to find a new place to live.

Well, we don't have any money saved up because we had to spend it all when my step dad lost his job. Okay. So, my step mother has insessantly been telling me how, in 20 years, I'll end up just like my mother with no money, can't feed my baby, and that I'll be a horrible parent. 

She even got my step-sister to call me and tell me how important it is for me to go back to school, and how, 'I"m all for keeping the baby, but you need to be able to support yourself and the baby on your own." She's told me more than once that I should have had an abortion instead of keeping the baby.