Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

A mess..

Posted by on Jul. 16, 2013 at 6:28 PM
  • 8 Replies

I am newly pregnant (due early March 2014) and this sets me in a tough spot. I am a nursing student in college(rough course in general), just started a new job, bipolar and have a boyfriend of 4 years that I live with but we haven't been doing so good lately. Before I found out I was pregnant, I told him he had a month to find a roommate and I was going to move out. Sure enough, at what seemed the worst possible time, I found out I was pregnant. 

Due to the circumstances, my boyfriend and I decided to give things one last try for the baby's sake. Though,if things don't work out I believe it's better to live with parents separated than two miserable parents. Things seem to be going really well, we get along, he's very understanding of my horrible mood swings now that I had to get off the medication I was on for bipolar and all the raging pregnancy hormones. 

However, here are my problems I need to tackle now:

1. His family is CRAZY. Even my boyfriend cannot stand them. I do not want my child to grow up learning from them. I understand, this child is their blood relative and I should not deprive the baby of a family when it has one, but I can't pull myself to let go enough to put it in, what I consider, a hostile, unhealthy situation. Should I limit the amount of time they see the child and just always supervise?? Or not at all?

2.  Because we aren't so stable yet (relationship wise) I don't know what last name to give the child, his mine or hyph?

3. My new job requires that I be there a year before requesting medical leave without replacement. However, I am 2 months pregnant now and I just started. What should I do when I need time off? I don't want them to replace me, I can't afford to lose my job when I just had a baby.