Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Hello I have a few questions.

Posted by on Mar. 8, 2009 at 6:55 PM
  • 2 Replies
  • 212 Total Views

I am a student seeking my early childhood education degree. I sub at a local school for special needs assistants. I have a heart for special needs children. I am also a christian and my pastors family have two down's syndrome children that I help out with. I recently started teaching sounds and working on fine motor skills with the younger child. He is now eight.

I have two questions I need to ask for my course. I will take the answers and put them in my paper and also use the information to help my pastors wife.

Do you as a parent feel that your child's school system supports your child's individual needs?

Do you have a child with downs syndrome and if so what are some of your daily challanges? The child I know is eight and will not potty train. Do you have any advice on how to potty train an eight year old downs syndrome child?

I would appreciate any advice for working with special needs children.

by on Mar. 8, 2009 at 6:55 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-2):
tafkabecky
by New Member on Mar. 11, 2009 at 5:53 PM

Hello!  My 5 yr old daughter has Speech Apraxia and is in the early childhood/pre-K program at our local public school (Belleville, IL).  I do feel my daughter's needs are being met.  Her main challenge is her lack of speech. She is 5, but talks at an 18 month olds level. Mostly vowels, very few consinents. She uses a Dynavox V, and sign language to make up for her lack of oral words. If it were'nt for the wonderfull teachers and therapists at the school, I would have never known what a dynavox is, let alone own one.