• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Newbie Here! Just applied for WIC and MediCAL...

Posted by on Jun. 9, 2009 at 10:57 PM
  • 5 Replies
  • 276 Total Views

Hello ladies,

I'm new to the group and just wanted to say I just applied for WIC today and it was VERY easy. It took about an hour and a half and they gave me my checks the same day.  I know there are alot of people out there who bash public assistance users, but let them ever get into a real position of need and they will be praising this wonderful country of the USA!! 

I recently lost my job due to the economy. I am a college grad who was making 60K a year.  I own my home, paid my taxes since I've been working at age 13, i am now 31. If 18 years of tax paying doesnt qualify me for some darn public assistance then I dont know what does!! This is MY insurance, because once I lost my job, I lost the expensive medical insurance I had also. Cobra insurance was going to be $600 a month with a $6000 deductible.  Thats is ridiculous!!

I am married to a Jamaican national and we went about the LEGAL way of getting him his greencard. I had to pay $$$$ for my husband to live away from me for over a year because the government would not let a person from a "third world" country into the US without a visa....even to visit. He is finally here now and only able to find part time work in this economy. I was the finacial support until i lost my job and our healthcare. I also became pregnant a couple of months after being laid off, and I truly think it was in Gods plan that I did beome pregnant in this circumstance. I now qualify for the programs the state offers to help support me and my family. I have medical insurance and food on the table.