Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My story...

Posted by on Mar. 23, 2007 at 3:54 PM
  • 3 Replies
  • 479 Total Views

You wrote on Mar. 23, 2007 at 3:47 PM

Hi! I am fairly new to Cafe Mom. I lost my mother in July to Lung Cancer. She smoked for a long time but quit right after my son was born in 2001. She had not been feeling good for several months when I convinced her to go back to the doctor. She had gone to see her regular doctor probably 6 or 8 times in a 4 month period. All he did was change her dosage of her medication, plavix or her blood pressure med's. HE NEVER RAN ANY TESTS!! I went with her In Sept 2005 and there again, he said he was concerned about her bruising, and wanted to take her off the Plavix for a little while. I told him that she couldn't be by herself! She couldn't walk in a straight line, and she could barely stay awake! I told him that I wanted him to DO HIS JOB, AND RUN SOME TESTS! He asked her to get up and walk, and she just fell over! He said, well maybe we do need to run some tests. He sent us over to the hospital, and her sodium was so low, the doctor there didn't know how she was even consious.So, they did an MRI and the next day, the doctor told us that the saw some spots on her brain. She said it looked like a cancer that had spread from somewhere else in her body. They did a CAT scan, and found a 7cm mass in her right lung. By this time....it was too late. She started immediatly on radiation, and felt better than she had in years. She had so much energy!  In December right before christmas she started on Chemo. The radiation worked so well, the tumor was pretty much gone in her chest. After the 1 round of chemo, they found a 3 cm mass in her cerebellum. We knew that the fight was almost over....She held on and fought for 10 months. She died July 10, 2006  She was 62. I miss her so much. I felt like my whole world turned upside down. I am 33 years old, and u