Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

QOTD

Posted by on Apr. 24, 2017 at 10:01 AM
  • 7 Replies
  • 85 Total Views

My 6 year old is a kindergartener and really does not like school.  Mondays are the worse because he is use to being off even though we go to Sunday School it's only an hour long.  He will refuse to get out of  the car at kiss and ride and go to his class.  He'll stand outside the class in the hall and won't look at the teacher and only the wall.  I've tried positive reinforcement, I've tried taking away favorite toys.  I am praying about it.  Do you have any suggestions on how to change his perspective and get him to obey?

by on Apr. 24, 2017 at 10:01 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
rosepetal24
by on Apr. 24, 2017 at 10:07 AM
1 mom liked this

Good morning, trixie...

I am a former Elementary teacher of 21 years...

Let me think about this for a while...

Do you send your child to a Private School or a Public School?

Please share that with me as you like...

I want to help...:) 

I am keeping this in prayer as well for you as I think of suggestions...

rosepetal...

zboys
by encyclopedia on Apr. 24, 2017 at 4:03 PM
Has he been going all year? How long has this been going on? Maybe he is a late bloomer.
rosepetal24
by on Apr. 24, 2017 at 6:19 PM

trixie,

I've had some time to look at this as a Mom and a former teacher.

First some hope:  School is almost over...It is no longer fresh for any one, teachers included.  This is by far the hardest time of the year..

Looking at your child's behavior, I can see why he might not want to go to school after Sunday School.  This is fun...Traditional school is not fun, because it involves work, routine and producing, also behaving well...

I keep in mind he is 6 years old...

Their stamina is nothing like an older child's would be.  

His attention span is very, very short...