Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

African American Mommies African American Mommies

URBAN FICTION:DO YOU READ IT?

Posted by on May. 4, 2012 at 11:07 PM
  • 12 Replies
I am a new writer/author and I'd like to know what does the majority of our black culture read. I hope to publish my first book soon which is Urban Fiction. I want to know what are your likes and dislikes about the genre and how it can be improved by the authors out there. What would you like to see come to light that hasn't been done yet?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on May. 4, 2012 at 11:07 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Bunsmommy
by Ruby Member on May. 4, 2012 at 11:12 PM
Let me think on that
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Sharon911
by on May. 4, 2012 at 11:22 PM
4 moms liked this

I like urban fiction but I'd like to see something different than the usual drug-dealer and his down-ass chick who prostitutes or boosts clothes on the side until her man gets out of jail type scenarios. All the urban books seem to have the same storyline. I know it's supposed to be "urban" but that's not the only thing happening in the inner-city.

JanaeMarie
by on May. 4, 2012 at 11:56 PM
Sister, I 100% completely agree w/you. We already get potrayed that way by the media why keep writing us that way. There are a lot of other things going on that I believe everyone can relate to but sometimes those books don't get to the mainstream because its not the typical, or norm. But maybe one day that will change.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Pink_Sunshine
by on May. 4, 2012 at 11:57 PM