Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

14mo old hardly eats any solids..need help!

Posted by on Oct. 23, 2009 at 11:05 AM
  • 11 Replies

I am worried that my son isn't getting enough solids. He breastfeeds still, which is good but he doesn't really eat anything. He will occasionally ask for stuff off of our plates but when I sit him down to eat he just plays. He will eat crackers and some cheese, chicken, fruit, but only  a few bites here and there. I am not worried about his weight or growth I just am concerned because he wants to nurse so much. Should I even be worried?? I want to continue to breastfeed him till he is 2 but I also want him to actually eat food.

by on Oct. 23, 2009 at 11:05 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mefingas
by Member on Oct. 23, 2009 at 11:10 AM

I am not an expert but I will tell you what I think.  I know that my daughter wouldn't eat much till one day she just started eating everything in sight.  I would just keep on offering him food. I know that the first finger foods my daughter ate where fruit, she loves fruit and peas.  She is 16 months old now and will eat meat and eggs off and on.  I just keep on trying.  Plus it seemed that she was more likely to eat real food if we were out.  For snacks she used to get Special K crackers, I don't know why but she loved them and also gerber fruit puffs and yogurt bites.  I would just keep on offering food.  Good luck.

augiemom
by on Oct. 24, 2009 at 11:23 AM