Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Already thinking about weaning...

Posted by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 9:38 AM
  • 17 Replies

I guess I should say already since i have been nursing himi for 11 months but with his birthday coming up soon, it has been on my mind.  I love nursing him but I hate HATE pumping.  I find it really uncomfortable.  In addition, I pump in the middle of a bunch of cubicles.  It is awkward at times but I make it work since I refuse to pump in the bathroom. 

I do feel bad but this just really sucks.. Sorry I am thinking about it because I am currently pumpping.

CafeMom Tickers

by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 9:38 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
MamaCeleste0722
by Celeste on Jan. 25, 2010 at 9:44 AM

Have you thought of ditching the pump and nursing when you're together after he turns one?

MNilsen
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 9:48 AM

I have thought about it but I am really not sure how to transition him.  I go to school 3 days a week so I pump on those days so he has milk at daycare.  I know if I stop pumping, my supply will decrease.  I am not sure if that will frustrate him when we are together and he notices a difference in my supply. He usually nurses between 6-7am, 9-10an, 2-3pm, and at 7pm.  Occassionally we will have another session some where in there.

Quoting MamaCeleste0722:

Have you thought of ditching the pump and nursing when you're together after he turns one?

CafeMom Tickers

lima_mama
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 9:55 AM

First, I would really like to say how great I think it is that you chose to nurse and pump for so long; what a lucky little guy!

My son is just over a year old & I find he can go a lot longer without nursing now that he is actually eating solids (finally)!