• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

OT-He pees when he throws a tantrum

Posted by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 12:51 PM
  • 10 Replies

My son is 19 months old.  I've been working with him on potty training for a few months now because he proved he was ready.  I let him run around all day without a diaper and we don't have any accidents.  He comes to me and tells me when he's got to go.  With that said, he will pee when he throws a tantrum.  He's always thrown himself around and tried to hurt himself and unless I think he's concussed or fractured something I'm going to ignore him (wish I could get his grandma to do the same).  For awhile I wasn't sure if he was doing it on purpose or if he simply lost control of his functions when he was throwing a tantrum.  I've since determined that he's doing it on purpose because of his actions while he's doing it.

Now, on the rare occassion that he does have an accident (usually poo), I don't make any fuss over it except to snatch him and put him on the potty if I catch him in the act.  When he's doing it on purpose, I pop his butt and then take him to the potty.  I don't want to have him associate the potty with punishment, but I don't know how to make him stop peeing when he's mad.

by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 12:51 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
WilliamsMama08
by on Jan. 25, 2010 at 1:23 PM

Does he not enjoy the feeling of being wet (I wouldn't)?  If so, what about just putting him in a time out?  Letting him sit there for 1-2 minutes wet isn't going to harm anything.

ncbirdie
by Robyn on Jan. 25, 2010 at 1:36 PM

Quoting WilliamsMama08:

Does he not enjoy the feeling of being wet (I wouldn't)?  If so, what about just putting him in a time out?  Letting him sit there for 1-2 minutes wet isn't going to harm anything.