Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Help! 2 week old not sleeping at all at night & wanting to nurse all night...

Posted by on Feb. 20, 2010 at 6:56 PM
  • 15 Replies

This is my first time breastfeeding. My 2 week old DS is not sleeping at all at night. I feed him and he acts like he wants to nurse all night long. He will fall asleep nursing but as soon as I put him in his bed he wakes up and acts like he's still hungry. I pretty much figured out that he's using me as a pacifier and is not actually hungry but I don't know what to do about it! I was expecting him to wake up every 2-3 hours at night which at this point I would LOVE because that would give me some actual time to sleep some. I didn't really want to give him a pacifier yet because I was afraid he would having latching problems but I've tried to give him one to satisfy this constant sucking he wants to do & he hates the pacifier. He just spits it out. I have rarely gotten him to suck on it. He sleeps great all day & wakes up every 2-3 hours no problem. He is so exhausted at night ( you can see it in his eyes) but he just won't sleep. Has anyone else had this problem? I don't know what to do but me sleeping all day to stay up all night is not an option with a 6 yr old in the house. I've tried putting him in his car seat to sleep instead of his co-sleeper but other than that I have no more ideas!

by on Feb. 20, 2010 at 6:56 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mamabens
by Miranda on Feb. 20, 2010 at 7:22 PM

Totally normal. To help you get sleep I would really reccomend co sleeping. I would have never gotten sleep if we didn't.

ashleybgarcia
by on Feb. 20, 2010 at 7:29 PM