Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

pumping question

Posted by on Apr. 13, 2007 at 11:09 AM
  • 5 Replies

I'm not good at pumping, I'm getting a little better though.  I try to pump every morning and get at the most 3oz, but most of the time its less, and it depends on if my baby wakes durring the night.  Well I'm trying to get a good supply in the freezer (I have maybe 30oz so far) but my baby is starting to eat cereal now.  Right now I use 1oz for her cereal but eventual she'll be eating more of it, and I'd rather not break into the stash I have for cereal at least not all the time.  I took fenugreek before because we though I might have had a low supply (daughters weight gain is slowing.)   However I didn't pump everyday then.  If I started taking it agian for a while would it boost my supply so I might be able to pump more?  I try pumping at night and hardly get any, but dd used to eat every 2hrs and it just starting to go every 4 so I'll have more chances in the day to pump.  Anyway if I used fenugreek once would it work if I started agian?

by on Apr. 13, 2007 at 11:09 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
N1mom2MichnRena
by on Apr. 13, 2007 at 11:22 AM
Well I can tell you that when I was pumping before while my daughter was in the nicu.  Once she had been breastfeeding , the pump suction did not work well at all I got less and less and it stressed me out so I stopped.  But the best way to get your supply going is breastfeed more and pump more if ithe pump is working. Sometimes our chest get use to the baby suction and the pump just not strong enough. I know I didn't really answer the question exactly but I know that the pump changed for me over time.  Plus breastmilk doesn't last that long, I had to get rid of most of mine.
gdiamante
by Group Mod - Gina on Apr. 13, 2007 at 11:35 AM
Yes, it will.