Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding No no's??

Posted by on Feb. 9, 2011 at 9:42 AM
  • 38 Replies
It has been 5 years since I breastfed. I am trying to remember the foods to stay away from. If I remember right its strawberries, honey, peanut products, broccoli (causes gas pains), spicy and fried food too. Anything else? Also, what is a really good med website to see if and how much of a med is safe for breastfeeding?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Feb. 9, 2011 at 9:42 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mama91605
by on Feb. 9, 2011 at 9:44 AM
I have been nursing for 22 months and I have always just ate what ever. Neither of my babies have ever had a reaction to anything.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
mama91605
by on Feb. 9, 2011 at 9:45 AM
Safe fetus is a great website for medication

Quoting mama91605:

I have been nursing for 22 months and I have always just ate what ever. Neither of my babies have ever had a reaction to anything.

Posted on CafeMom Mobile
SoniaL
by on Feb. 9, 2011 at 9:45 AM

You only need to stay away from foods if baby reacts.   You can have all of those things while BFing.  

MrsPilat
by on Feb. 9, 2011 at 9:46 AM

Quoting SoniaL:

You only need to stay away from foods if baby reacts.   You can have all of those things while BFing.  

mama02040608
by on Feb. 9, 2011 at 9:47 AM
You really can eat anything you want unless baby has a reaction to something you ate. I never restricted anything in my diet, and my babies were ok with my milk.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
mama02040608
by on Feb. 9, 2011 at 9:48 AM
Lact med is good for med advice.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
haymama
by on Feb. 9, 2011 at 9:48 AM