Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Insane nipple pain!

Posted by on Jun. 4, 2011 at 7:16 AM
  • 10 Replies

Hi ladies! Newbie here.

Well, I just had my second baby on the 1st and she's my little doll. I am attempting again to nurse exclusively. It didn't work out so well with my son, I was supplementing with formula thanks to a bit of PPD and zero support/help because hubby (my one man fan club!) was deployed. Then, when he was six weeks old, I was diagnosed with cancer and made to stop breastfeeding so they could treat me.

So, here we are 3 years later about to give it the old college try again.

And I'm in so much pain it's ridiculous. I'm engorged because I just got my milk yesterday. And my nipples are already ready to fall off. Especially the left one, but that's the side she started with and raised a pretty good blood blister on her very first meal!

We've seen the LC and she says Aura's got an awesome latch, she needed only a minor correction to her position at less than 24hours old and she was going to town, no problem.

The problem for me is: She has a hell of a suck. It hurts soooooo bad because it's so strong! I swear she's trying to tear the nipple off! Not to mention she'll drain the boob in 10-15 minutes, then pacify for awhile as she falls asleep.

I'm not sure what to do to get her to ease off or get my poor nipples to toughen up. Help? Please?

by on Jun. 4, 2011 at 7:16 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
NoraDun
by Silver Member on Jun. 4, 2011 at 7:33 AM

Sorry sweetie...I don't have any advice...but I wanted say congrats on nursing again...and God Bless~~

spcjones203
by on Jun. 4, 2011 at 7:41 AM

Wish me luck, I need lots of it lol!

But I got my one man fan club home and he's being a trooper. We have our days and nights confused, so hubs is really pullin' extra duty to help me out.

Quoting NoraDun: