Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Weaning question, what do you switch to and when?

Posted by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 8:48 PM
  • 14 Replies
This may be stupid, but you ladies are always so helpful. This is my first time breastfeeding and I was just wondering, what have you ladies been told about weaning at different ages, leading up to one year. If you wean anytime after 3 months to 1year, do you have to switch to formula, or can you switch to milk? And if it is milk, is it skim, 2% or whole?
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 8:48 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
ashleybgarcia
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 8:49 PM

You would need to switch to formula before a year. But, why would you want to? :)

mama02040608
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 8:50 PM
Before a year, formula for sure. Milk doesn't have the proper nutrients for human babies :)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
mama02040608
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 8:51 PM
And when you do introduce cows milk, usually it should be no less than 2%.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
aehanrahan
by Group Admin - Amy on Aug. 17, 2011 at 8:56 PM

Quoting mama02040608:

Before a year, formula for sure. Milk doesn't have the proper nutrients for human babies :)

Lilypie - (wn9y)

larissalarie
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 9:23 PM
No regular milk before 1. Protein is too hard to digest (they process the shit outta formula to make it digestible) and it lacks most of the nutrients a baby needs.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
larissalarie
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 9:25 PM
So if you decide to wean prematurely, yes you should give formula. :-)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Tangie1118
by on Aug. 17, 2011 at 9:52 PM