Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

exclusive pumping

Posted by on Dec. 8, 2011 at 6:25 PM
  • 30 Replies
9 moms liked this

This is the email I send when people ask me for help with exclusive pumping.  I am by no means an expert through anything other than experience.  This was put together with another pumping mama who has also been successful at exlusively pumping.  This is what we figured out worked for us...

Hello fellow pumper-

Here is my list of pumping tips that I send to beginning pumpers. Hope it helps!! Good Luck

-Always use olive oil, or even better, coconut oil on your horns!! You must lubricate. Plus it is anti-fungal and anti-bacterial. Be sure you are using the correct size of horn/shield as well. Most women need a size larger than what is included with their pump

-You must use a double electric pump for full stimulation. I love the Medela PISA and Freestyle.  And the freedom that comes with the Freestyle is priceless!

-To save time, do not wash your horns and pump bottles after every pump. Pour your milk into whatever storage unit your are using. Then place the horns, bottles and connectors into a large ziploc and place in the fridge. At the end of the day, wash with hot soapy water and sterilize.

-Make your own hands free pump bras. I like sports bras for this. I will include a tutorial for this at the bottom. I like this method better than the Freestyle hands free set up or the Easy Expressions pump bras that you can buy. THIS IS A MUST!!

-Always pump for at least 5-10 minutes past the last drop of milk. This will stimulate your breasts to make more milk. So, be sure you are pumping a MINIMUM of 20 minutes each session. And aim for 120 minutes total pumping time per day.