Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Ergo vs. Beco Butterfly... discuss!

Posted by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 1:41 PM
  • 10 Replies

I want to get a soft carrier... I currently use a Moby, which I love, but I know summer is coming and my baby is a sweaty one...

The difference I see is the Beco can be worn with baby facing in or out on front. The Ergo cannot. How important is this when baby is bigger or toddler? I am a FTM, so I am new to this!

by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 1:41 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
mommyofblueyes
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 1:48 PM

I have had a Beco butterfly 2, and Ergo.  I don't think the beco butterfly 2 allows for baby facing out though, so I am not much help, and I like them equally.  ;0)

Babyshoe
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 1:51 PM

Good question! I've been wondering the same thing! I have an Ergo, but an considering a mei tai or beco. I love that the beco butterfly has inner layer of clothing so she's strapped in. Makes me more comfortable throwing baby in my back. I'm not comfortble doing that yet (until they're older, which I've done in the ergo). THanks for the post, I can't wait to see everyone's opinions :)

erinladybug
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 2:05 PM
Here's a great comparison chart. http://www.theportablebaby.com/carrierfeatures.html
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
srbtab1999
by on Feb. 8, 2012 at 2:12 PM
Only the beco gemini you can carry with baby facing out and that one doesnt have the piece of material between you and babyblike the butterfly. From what I have heard in the butterfly you can not nurse with baby in it. I have the ergo and I truly love it.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
SewingMamaLele
by Leanne on Feb. 8, 2012 at 2:31 PM