Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

New to nursing

Posted by on May. 6, 2012 at 6:37 PM
  • 4 Replies

Hi ladies!!  I decided to join this group because I am fairly new to nursing and really wanna make it work.  I attempted with my 1st, but due to a bad latch and NO support or education I gave up within a few days, and just pumped for about a month.  I didn't even attempt with my 2nd, but went straight to pumping, I stopped almost right away because she seems to have alot of tummy problems with my milk (she still has a LOT of issues with milk).  My 3rd I never attempted because we were going through alot of medical and behavioral issues with our 2nd child (she's autistic and was EXTREMELY violent at the time).

So brings me to my 4th and final baby.  Her name is Oliviera and she is 2 weeks old.  The 1st week went great!!  I didn't have any pain and she had no issues latching.  This last week though has been pure HELL!!!  We went a few days were she would not stay latched on to my left side.  She would pull off constantly, and every time she would relatch it would hurt so bad!!  Now since last night she is starting to do the same thing to the right side.  From what I read it sounds like my let down is to fast for her, which I can handle her pulling off and relatching, but the pain when she latches on is KILLING me!!!  I sit there crying until she is finally latched on because of how bad it hurts, and it usually takes her about 15 min to finally latch on good.