Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Uneven breasts

Posted by on May. 22, 2012 at 8:22 AM
  • 11 Replies

My breast are noticeable uneven in size. Not just to me, my husband and mother have bothnoticed and asked about it. I get almost twice as much milk from my left breast as the right one while pumping. I have been breastfeeding for six months now but the size and milk difference has only been for the last month. Anyone had this problem? Any idea how to even them back out? It is so embarrassing to have noticeably uneven breasts!

by on May. 22, 2012 at 8:22 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
erinanne86
by on May. 22, 2012 at 10:39 AM
3 moms liked this

I would suggest pumping/nursing longer on the other side to increase production. I have this issue sometimes, i just laugh about it. My boyfriend notices too..esp when we go to the beach and ive just nursed my daughter on one side ..lol oh well

mostlymaydays
by Group Mod-Stacy on May. 22, 2012 at 5:29 PM

My left breast has always been significantly smaller than my right, through the course of nursing each of my 4 kids. I haven't found any great way to even it out, other than stuffing extra pads on the smaller side. :-/  Even increasing nursing on the smaller side won't necessarily help as breasts don't necessarily grow larger as they produce more, since they will produce on demand and not be storing milk. Yes, it is especially embarassing in a bathing suit. 

07lilmama1108
by on May. 22, 2012 at 7:07 PM
Dh calls them gargoils :( i get 9 oz from one and 2 oz from the other. Nursing more hasn't helped! At one point i got 4 oz from both sides and STILL was lopsided. I hope they go back to normal after we're done My left side looked like this 2 days after my milk came in, it was weird...
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
aehanrahan