Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

WEANING HELP.... for Severe progressive MS relapse...

Posted by on May. 25, 2012 at 1:35 AM
  • 27 Replies
Ugh....this seems to be all I post about anymore. I am bf'ing a 16 mo old and have MS. Im having my most severe relapse ever, RIGHT NOW. Everyday it's worse, a new part of my body goes numb, or my vision gets worse, or my energy is zero...or a dozen other things. I haven't been on meds for over 2 years. I was trying to get pregnant, was successful, and then have been breastfeeding for 16 mo's. Now it looks like I might have to quick wean my 16 mo old (traumatizing :( her ). .......ugh. I hate MS. I got dx'd 2 mo before I graduated culinary school 1 yr after I got divorced of my husbsnd/boyfriend of 12 years. 2 years after graduating to do my dream job I can't take the heat of a kitchen. 25k in student loans for nothing. Now with a half dozen numb spots, blurry vision, stabbing pains, tingling, bruises everywhere, hot flashes, and extreme fatigue MS is trying to take my ability to be a mom (not to mention the emotional aspects of MS, and cognitive) PLUS, all the side effects from this tapering dose of prednisone. I think at this rate, considering the severity of this relapse, if I don't wean and get on meds right away I will end up not being able to care for my kids. The medication options for me (avonex, rebif, gilynea, and another I can't remember) don't have enough research behind them for use during bf. So yesterday, I called LLL and when my call was returned she mentioned the don't offer, don't refuse method, maybe trying to stop the cosleeping also, but preceded to tell me I was going to emotionally and psychologically scar my daughter for life, effect all her future interpersonal relationships, her ability to trust others, and cope with stress. WTF DO I DO NOW? I believe breast is best, but feel now like I unkno