Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Common phrases/Misconceptions about breastfeeding

Posted by on May. 31, 2012 at 6:28 AM
  • 101 Replies
1 mom liked this

Hi guys,

I'm writing a series of letters to my daughter (who is now just about 7 weeks old), and am talking about different common misconceptions or phrases about breastfeeding such as "Human pacifier", etc.

Hopefully most of them will be obsolete by the time she's grown up.

What are the most annoying misconceptions that you tend to hear repeated all the time? I'm gathering a list so that I can write about every last damned one of them so that I can put them together in a book for Kira when she's pregnant with her first. :) 

by on May. 31, 2012 at 6:28 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
BrownEyedGirl86
by Bronze Member on May. 31, 2012 at 6:32 AM
Bump I'm new to bf-ing
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Gruntlings
by on May. 31, 2012 at 6:42 AM
1 mom liked this

Quoting BrownEyedGirl86:

Bump I'm new to bf-ing

Kudos on making the choice to breastfeed. Hope it's going well for you and you find this group supportive! I wish I had found the group before my first child had been born. I'd have been much better prepared.

Dylansmom_2010
by on May. 31, 2012 at 7:07 AM
7 moms liked this
The one I really don't understand is "You have to drink milk to make milk.". Good thing that's not true since I had to go completely dairy free due to an allergy at 3 months. We're still nursing at 28 months :)
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
mostlymaydays
by Group Mod-Stacy on May. 31, 2012 at 7:26 AM
1 mom liked this
"your breasts are too small to breastfeed a baby"
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
K8wizzo
by Kate on May. 31, 2012 at 7:26 AM
4 moms liked this