Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

more than spitting up

Posted by on Jun. 10, 2012 at 3:30 PM
  • 10 Replies
My 2 wk old just threw up. If I had cupped my two hands together it would have filled them. This is the 2nd or 3rd time. It's right after I finish feeding him. He will unlatch and ill move him to burp him but he threw up as soon as he was on my shoulder, before the first pat. I burp him2 - 3 times/breast. This time, he ate 3 hrs ago and only ate from one breast. This is my first time BF, the docs at the hospital said to go to the pedi if he does it very often, this isn't often IMO but still wierd. Any advice?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Jun. 10, 2012 at 3:30 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
melindabelcher
by mel on Jun. 10, 2012 at 3:39 PM
Do you have symptoms of an oversupply our overactive letdown?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Precious333
by Group Mod-Julia on Jun. 10, 2012 at 3:47 PM

Does it fly across the room too? Is he ha happy spitter or upset?

Let me tell you what happened with my first child. He would projectile vomit....it would go flying across the room! There are many reasons for projectile vomiting. Overactive letdown can cause this. In that cause you would block feed. Baby can get too much milk at one time and there could be a burp stuck. Block feeding and burping more frequently will help this.  It could be there is their backs are not aligned, which you could seek chiropractic care.  All these three were the issue with my son.  There are also other reasons for spitting up, but rarely is it something serious. If diapers are fine, baby is not screaming or upsetf while spitting up, and baby is still gaining and not loosing weight (besides the normal 10% weight loss in the beginning), than its mostly likely a laundry problem.

phrenicfire89
by on Jun. 10, 2012 at 3:54 PM
What are the symptoms?

Quoting melindabelcher: