Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Menstruation during lactation... maybe tmi (PIOG)

Posted by on Jul. 10, 2012 at 8:41 AM
  • 6 Replies

Ok, so ive been bfing my dd for 14 months now, on demand, and about 2-3 times a night (normally, sometimes more at night). No period since her birth, but about 5 days ago, i started having heavy vaginal discharge that was clear, then became a little milky looking, then back to clear and sometimes it was pretty thick. Not like a yeast infection (not curds and no other symptoms of yeast in me or dd), but it was like i was ovulating, but im not sure. it was pretty easy to tell something was going on since im bfing- that makes me pretty dry vaginally so i havent had this much discharge since her birth. also, my nipples are very tender when she nurses. it makes me kind of dread nursing, but not so much that i limit her.  ive also been having some cramping in my abdomen that pretty noticable. Im not bending over in pain or anything, but it definitiely makes me stop what im doing and think, "hmm, im cramping." im thinking that im about to start my period again. anybody got any info for me about this? what should i expect? ive google this, but i cant really find anything about it! my dd is my only child, so this is the first time im going through this. sorry if i seem clueless, but i am! haha! i would greatly appreciate your input! What was your first period during lactation like?

Lilypie Breastfeeding tickers

by on Jul. 10, 2012 at 8:41 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
native.mommy
by on Jul. 10, 2012 at 9:07 AM
1 mom liked this