Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

New to Breastfeeding... Any advice?

Posted by   + Show Post

Hey everyone!

I have never breast fed a child before. I have two other daughters but felt like breastfeeding wasnt an option for different issues. I would like the oppurtunity to breast feed this baby. I will be 35 weeks pregnant on Wednesday, cant take classes, so Im very new to this. I am scared as well.

Any advice would be very nice! (:

Thanks for your time!!! <3

by on Aug. 13, 2012 at 3:14 AM
Replies (11-15):
AudlyLuvly
by Bronze Member on Aug. 13, 2012 at 1:52 PM
Look up the la leche league group near you. Free support meetings, and help from leaders. It's easier if you have support in your decision to provide your child with the best. Lots of skin to skin contact will help your milk come in. in those early Weeks, don't give into a bottle (even if it's a bm bottle), because it can cause a flow/nipple preference. Instead, if needed, spoon or syringe feed. And ask for help whenever you're frustrated or concerned.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
asaffell
by Bronze Member on Aug. 13, 2012 at 3:30 PM

Commit to 6 weeks. Know that babies eat all the time and will make you think they're starving - but you ONLY need to look at diapers (1 per day of life, so 1 on the first day, 2 on the second, and then 5-6 wets a day) to make sure that baby is getting enough. It can take time to perfect the latch and if there's nipple pain, it's usually a latch issue.

polkaspots
by Gold Member on Aug. 13, 2012 at 9:55 PM