Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

New to BF.. nipples too large.. tips?

Posted by on Oct. 3, 2012 at 7:45 PM
  • 5 Replies
My baby is 4 days old today.. my milk came in yesterday.. My ds woke up at midnight last night and cried until 6am. I kept trying to feed but it wasn't working. My SO pointed out that my nipples were too big for his mouth.. I am now pumping. Anyone else? I am adamant on him only having breast milk. Any tips?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Oct. 3, 2012 at 7:45 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
kylersmommy
by Member on Oct. 3, 2012 at 8:14 PM
I am also new to bfing(ds is 8days old!) So what I say may not mean ad much as these.other, awesome mama's, but my nipples are huge as well! But my tiny ds doesn't have any issues. This is only.coming from what ive learned in the past 8 days but when my milk came in and I was super engorged, it took ds a few to get latched on. I don't.think nipple size has anything to do with it. Just keep trying mama! It'll get better.

And I'm sure someone else will have some advice as well! Just wanted to throw my experience out there! Good luck!
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
thalia7758
by on Oct. 3, 2012 at 8:20 PM
1 mom liked this

By "too big", do you mean the nipple won't fit at all, or do you mean that he just doesn't have much areola in his mouth? As long as he can get the nipple in his mouth it should be fine.

The best advice I have is just keep trying. Your baby has made it four days so far, so he's most likely capable of getting milk from your breasts. When I had my son, I was shocked at how tiny he was compared to my left nipple. He could barely get it in his mouth, but somehow he did. I did have some trouble with him pulling away and not latching, but a lactation consultant was able to help him get latched.