Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Panic attacks!! Have been told I can take NOTHING! True?

Posted by   + Show Post

Hi all,

I am currently nursing a 22 pound 9 month old DS and lately have been suffering panic attacks. I am a social worker and can recognize what to do and even spoke to a few colleagues but i can't sleep and my heart races often throughout the day. I called my doctor, who told me there was nothing I could take because I was nursing. This can't be true. I dont plan to take multiple pills a day. I really just need something at night (when it gets worse). And its not every night.. Is there anything that will work to calm the anxiety but not affect my baby?

by on Oct. 4, 2012 at 10:40 AM
Replies (21-29):
Tillymommie
by on Oct. 5, 2012 at 11:04 AM

I guess like most things it can also depend on your own body. I personally never had an issue with it but I only have anxiety issues maybe a few times a week, so I don't take it that often. So I guess thats why I don's see signs of infant sedation really. My baby is very awake and alert.

Quoting .sp4rkl3z.:

I had to look on Kellymom to see what she said and Dr Hale's research says that benedryl shouldn't cause supply issues but is more of a concern with infant sedation and drowsiness. But I have always heard that benedryl can be used to dry up one's milk

Quoting Tillymommie:

I haven't had a problem with it. My milk supply is great.

Quoting .sp4rkl3z.:

Benedryl dries up your milk?

Quoting Tillymommie:

Benadryl or vistril.. Thats what I was told by OBYN when I was having them during pregnancy and was told I could continue taking them while BF.

Mother is the name for God on the lips and hearts of all children. Do you understand? ~The Crow

LoveOfWisdom
by Bronze Member on Oct. 5, 2012 at 11:06 AM
You defiantly can. I know I was going to go on Paxil at one point.

Quoting njmommy75: