Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Nursing with baby sitting up??

Posted by on Oct. 9, 2012 at 5:10 PM
  • 26 Replies

My 6 mo old has an ear infection, well both ears are infected.. Anyway, his dr told me he needs to eat sitting up because the milk just runs back in to his ears... I've never heard of this... 

Anyone hear of this or been told this before?  

Thanks Ladies 

by on Oct. 9, 2012 at 5:10 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
ceckyl
by Kyla on Oct. 9, 2012 at 5:12 PM
I have NO experience with war infections, but I would imagine an upright position would feel more comfortable for baby. It's fine to nurse baby sitting up if that's what your asking?
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
Lorraine2674
by on Oct. 9, 2012 at 5:38 PM

He seems to do ok.. except when he's tired he really wants to lay down..  I was more curious if anyone has ever heard of or had to do this... I'm still finding the right position for both of us.  

Thank you!  :) 

Quoting ceckyl:

I have NO experience with war infections, but I would imagine an upright position would feel more comfortable for baby. It's fine to nurse baby sitting up if that's what your asking?

alreadydidthis
by on Oct. 9, 2012 at 5:40 PM
1 mom liked this
I've heared that before but with formula not breast milk. But that makes sense maybe that's why my baby ear infection came right back..
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
devoesgirl
by on Oct. 9, 2012 at 5:40 PM
1 mom liked this
Ive heard of that with bottle feeding but never with bfing.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
BrooklynsMom11
by Member on Oct. 9, 2012 at 5:42 PM
1 mom liked this