Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Breastfeeding Moms Breastfeeding Moms

Weaning advice

Posted by on Dec. 31, 2012 at 4:09 PM
  • 14 Replies

Hi :) I'm Jessica, and I'm thrilled I found this group! I have 4 kids, 13, 9, 3, and 9 months, the older two are stepdaughters, and the younger two are breastfeeding. As I'm sure most of you know, an almost 4 year old (in March) isn't considered 'normal' or 'healthy' by many people, so I hope that in this group, I won't face the judgment or rude comments I've so o,ften gotten. I love breastfeeding, and I'm fine with letting him nurse as long as he wants, but I do plan to wean him soon if he doesn't on his own, because I am pregnant again. So, ladies, any tips on how to best wean an almost 4 year old? It doesn't have to be right away, in fact, I'd prefer to wait until Spring to do it, but since I've never done this before, I hope someone has some advice!

by on Dec. 31, 2012 at 4:09 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Precious333
by Group Mod-Julia on Dec. 31, 2012 at 4:12 PM

I weaned my children one step at a time, and lots of distractions. How often does your 4 yr old nurse?

Precious333
by Group Mod-Julia on Dec. 31, 2012 at 4:13 PM

also, you said your son isn't "normal" or "healthy", what do you mean by that (no judgement here), just to get a better picture of your situation.

SuperMom2433
by on Dec. 31, 2012 at 4:14 PM
1 mom liked this
Well, I don't have any advice in the weaning dept as Im still nursing my 15 month old son. But you def won't get any bad or mast comments in this group. O know there's one mom on here who is nursing her 5 yr old.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
happysnappyJ
by on Dec. 31, 2012 at 4:14 PM

Quoting Precious333:

also, you said your son isn't "normal" or "healthy", what do you mean by that (no judgement here), just to get a better picture of your situation.