Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Can I Only Do One Side

Posted by on Jan. 1, 2013 at 8:46 PM
  • 10 Replies
Since. Son wa born(December 20) I been getting more milk in my right side than I do my left. Now I'm starting to get less coming out of the left side. Could I just keep pumping from the right side since that where the most milk is coming in at or keep doing both?
by on Jan. 1, 2013 at 8:46 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
polkaspots
by on Jan. 1, 2013 at 8:50 PM
If you just use side, you will most likely end up always being lopsided. I've been breastfeeding for ten months and my right has always produced more, but pumping from just my right has never given me enough.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
maggiemom2000
by on Jan. 1, 2013 at 9:01 PM

Considering the fact that it can be difficult to maintain full milk production through pumping I would not recommend it. Most pumping moms see a decline in milk output over time. Also, dolbe pumping does  not take any longer than single pumping, and some studies show double pumping leads to more milk output than pumping each side alone (so if you are only pumping the one side, you may see less milk coming out of that side).

Everyone has one side that produces more.

tabi_cat1023
by Group Admin -Tabitha on Jan. 1, 2013 at 9:07 PM

Are you JUST pumping?  I would continue to pump both no matter what personally

KCartair
by on Jan. 1, 2013 at 9:15 PM
I only pump I tried to put him to breast three times but he didn't stay on it.
Quoting tabi_cat1023:

Amberleigh81
by Silver Member on Jan. 1, 2013 at 9:19 PM
Then definitely pump both... EPing is very hard, but there are ladies here who can help you!
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
tabi_cat1023
by Group Admin -Tabitha on Jan. 1, 2013 at 9:25 PM
1 mom liked this